Beware of the Wilco book (Jay, please don't look back)

countryBoy

Post by countryBoy »

I think that they haven't talked this millennium is a little strange considering the Uncle Tupelo remasters were just released a while back and I'm sure both had input on the anthology. I suppose thats what lawyers are for when you are a rock star.

tillotson505

Post by tillotson505 »

Geez countryboy - I suppose it's good that Kot's name wasn't Hunt?

BoogieMan

Post by BoogieMan »

That sounds reasonable. I'm new to the Uncle Tupelo story so I didn't know much about them really before reading those chapters in the book. Having read the book recently and about the very dramatic breakup, I was surprised to read this little bit in the Jay interview that was posted the other day:

Do you ever talk with Jeff (Tweedy) nowadays
Not in the new millennium, no. Actually, after Uncle Tupelo ended, we kept in contact for a couple of years. But now we primarily travel in different circles, so we don't really talk.

Had stuff like this been used in the book, some of the drama would have disappeared for sure, because in many ways there's more about the drama than about the music.

Still, my biggest problem with the book is that I think it is a book about Jeff Tweedy and not about Wilco. While there's no doubt Jeff is the center of the band, there's still a bunch of guys whose roles are really downplayed in the book.

countryBoy

Post by countryBoy »

If Kot is guilty of anything it's rushing to release the book without checking facts to put out a book to coincide with release of AGIB to sell more copies. I'm sure he juiced up the breakup part a bit but I didn't read anything too damning to Jay. It is a little ass kissy but what rock bio written by a fan wouldn't be. Kot is a twat.

tillotson505

Post by tillotson505 »