"we're all going to buy the record anyway..."

lazerbeamhawkins

Post by lazerbeamhawkins »

I've taken no offense to this post. I'm a newbie by board status, but I've loved Jay and Co. a few years now. I was hoping for some links of new stuff played LIVE, but that's okay. I'm buying this album no matter if the apocalypse dawns...as I'm sure ya'll wil too.

sam6025

Post by sam6025 »

Press copies are out. I know a few blogs who have them and one of the guys on the site I still kinda run have one. I haven't been willing to drive to his house to pick it up since it'd be a 90 minute round trip and he's computer illiterate. However, all early word I've heard said the album is really good.

I don't think it would be unfair to share anything that pops up. I've already pre-ordered the album from Amazon, so I'm cool with it. Believe me, anyone who would get the mp3s now and not buy the album will just wait for the mp3s to come out after the album is released.

I've got it coming on vinyl. I haven't bought a Son Volt CD in a long time, but I've got them all on vinyl!

Dr. Zapatos

Post by Dr. Zapatos »

If Jay & co had wanted us to listen to the album before it came out, they would've put up a stream no?

I've had albums for months before they've been relased before, but all you look forward to is the day you get it.

Something about teh wait that is rewarding too. Everything has to be digitally instant these days, click & buy, wait a few seconds and it's yours. We're turning into a breed of spoiled brats because of it, with less appriciation for crafts and arts, going for cheap thrills to numb-feed ourselves.

Everything fucking fast and instant. In a few generations, the word attention span will be regarded as arcane and its function and meaning taught solely by a man and a woman on the outskirts of Portland, OR.

the art guy

Post by the art guy »